Подаруй ялинці життя
Подаруй ялинці життя DIGITALLY ABOUT VITAL THINGS

This is a special project for us. Why? Because we were able to combine everything in it - a global, in our view, problem, enthusiastic audience, creative idea, unconventional mechanics, New Year's magic and most importantly - the result.

Problem
  • From 2008 to 2017, 4.03 million hectares of forests were cut down in Ukraine, while only 526.6 thousand hectares of plantations were restored.
  • Over the past 10 years, about 200 thousand more hectares of forests (+5% of those cut down) have died for other reasons: from fires, pests, windbreaks, as well as from the poachers.

Ukraine suffers from illegal logging, especially in its western part. In addition to logging for commercial purposes, every year on the eve of the Christmas holidays, among the trees grown in nurseries specifically for this purpose, "smuggled" trees without tags barbarically cut down in the Ukrainian forests emerge in the official and "not so" Christmas tree markets. Usually, these are the most beautiful young representatives of the forest.

Here's a little background information: conifers - spruces and pines - are the only year-round 24/7 “generators” of oxygen. They grow to the size of 1.5 - 2 meters (and this is the most “popular” Christmas size) for 15-20 years. And then bam! - and within a month they die under the glistening tinsel. Moreover, in the expectation of a quick profit, these forest beauties are cut down quite a lot - so that already on January 1 the “excess” is lying on the dirty asphalt of the empty Christmas tree market.

And while, unfortunately, we cannot influence imports and construction, we decided to intervene in the situation of the New Year holidays. After all, if we do not buy a live Christmas tree for the New Year, then gradually over time, demand - dictating the supply in the market community - will minimize the supply of Christmas trees.

5 000 000

spruces are cut down in Ukraine every year for New Year's celebrations.

1 770 000

spruces remain unsold and are thrown in landfills each year

What did we decide to do?

And while, unfortunately, we cannot influence imports and construction, we decided to intervene in the situation of the New Year holidays. After all, if we do not buy a live Christmas tree for the New Year, then gradually over time, demand - dictating the supply in the market community - will minimize the supply of Christmas trees.

We decided to act differently!

To show that the New Year is a holiday of families, friends, colleagues. A holiday that unites us. Around the Christmas tree with lights? Yes! But what's important in this unity is the atmosphere, fun, friendly laughter! And the Christmas tree can be anything: it can be made out of books, pasta, hangers, cardboard.

02.11.2018

It was a cardboard Christmas tree (decorated with garlands by the way) we offered to make for all the participants of the project. And thus support our initiative by sharing information about it in social networks. Social responsibility was the obligatory condition - everyone who supported the project took the obligation not to buy this year's live Christmas tree.

02.11.2018


What we did:
  • Hashtag #give_Christmastree_life
  • Promo site, which automatically counted all reposts and hashtags on social media. Which equated to potentially saved Christmas trees.
  • Video. That's a separate story. The children of our employees were filmed in the videos, all the Christmas trees were made from recycled cardboard and painted by our employees themselves.
  • We involved partner companies in the project.
  • We made a postcard template and made it freely available. Now everyone could download it and brand it to their company.
  • We created a set of stickers for Telegram to congratulate friends, cheer them up and remind them that a good company and Christmas trees in the messenger are totally enough for friendship and good New Year`s mood.
  • We held a series of PR activities


RESULT

38

Ukrainian and international participating brands

36 115

saved Christmas trees

59 706

hashtags

25

high real blue spruce planted in Shevchenko Park in Kyiv

22

mentions in the media

But the most important result for us is that all of our employees stopped buying live Christmas trees on New Year's Eve! Isn't that a success! And we encourage anyone who has ideas of their own or wants to support our existing one to write to us. The New Year is just around the corner!

Let's help the forest beauties stay in the woods!

 

You may be interested in cases

en
ru
en
Подаруй ялинці життя диджитально о жизненно важных вещах

Это особенный для нас проект. Почему? Потому что в нем мы смогли совместить все – глобальная, на наш взгляд, проблема, увлеченная аудитория, креативная идея, нестандартная механика, новогоднее волшебство и главное – результат.

Проблема
  • С 2008 по 2017 годы в Украине было вырублено 4,03 млн га лесов, при этом восстановлено только 526,6, тысяч га насаждений.
  • За минувшие 10 лет еще около 200 тыс. га лесов (+5% к вырубленным) погибло по другим причинам: от пожаров, вредителей, буреломов, а также из-за действий браконьеров.

Украина страдает от незаконной вырубки лесов, особенно ее западная часть. Помимо вырубки для коммерческих целей, каждый год в преддверии новогодних праздников, на официальных и «не очень» елочных базарах, среди выращенных в питомниках специально для этих целей елок, появляются «контрабандные» без бирок, варварски вырубленные в украинских лесах. Как правило – это самые красивые молодые представители леса.

Тут небольшая справка: хвойные деревья – ели и сосны – это единственные круглогодичные 24/7 «генераторы» кислорода. До размера в 1,5 – 2 метра (а это самый «ходовой» новогодний размер) растут 15-20 лет. А потом бац – и за месяц умирают под блестящим дождиком. Более того, в расчете на быстрый заработок, этих лесных красавиц вырубается достаточно много – так, что уже 1 января «лишнее» валяются на грязном асфальте опустелого елочного базара.

И если на импорт и строительство мы, к сожалению, повлиять не можем, мы решили вмешаться в ситуацию новогодних праздников. Ведь если мы не будем на новый год покупать живую елку, то постепенно со временем спрос, диктующий в рыночном сообществе предложение – сведет к минимуму предложение новогодних деревьев.

5 000 000

елей ежегодно в Украине вырубывают для празднования Нового года. Официальная статистика

1 770 000

елей ежегодно остается непроданными и выбрасываются на свалку

Что мы решили делать?

Рассказывать о проблеме? Пугать? Показывать грустные кадры пустеющих лесов? – нет! Все мы устали от проблем, тем более накануне новогодних праздников.

Мы решили действовать по-другому!

Показать – что новый год – это праздник семей, друзей, коллег. Праздник, который объединяет нас. Вокруг новогодней елки с гирляндами? Да! Но в этом объединение важна атмосфера, веселье, дружеский смех! А елка может быть любой: из книг, из макарон, из вешалок, из картона.

02.11.2018

Именно картонную елку (украшенную кстати гирляндами) мы предлагали собственноручно изготовить всем участникам проекта. И поддержать таким образом нашу инициативу – поделившить информацией об этом в социальных сетях. Обязательным условием была социальная ответственность – каждый, кто поддержал проект брал на себя обязательство не покупать в этом году живую елку.

02.11.2018
Ёлки в медиа

Что мы делали:
  • Хештег #подаруй_ялинці_життя
  • Промо сайт – на котором велся автоматический подсчет по всем репостам и хэштегам в социальных сетях. Что приравнивалось к потенциально спасенным елкам.
  • Видеролик. С ним вообще отдельная история. В ролики снимались дети наших сотрудников, все елки были изготовлены из вторичного картона и раскрашены нашими сотрудниками собственноручно.
  • Привлекли партнеров – компании участники к проекту.
  • Сделали макет открытки, выложив ее в свободный доступ. Теперь каждый мог скачать ее, забрендировать под свою компанию.
  • Сделали набор стикеров для телеграм, которыми можно было поздравить друга, повеселить и напомнить о том, что для дружбы и хорошего настроения под новый год достаточно хорошей компании и елочек в мессенджере.
  • Провели ряд PR активностей

Результат

38

украинских и международных брендов участников

36 115

спасенных елок

59 706

хэштегов

25

метровая настоящая голубая ель, высаженная в парке Шевченко в Киеве

22

упоминания в СМИ

Ёлки: участники

Но самый главный для нас результат – это то, что все наши сотрудники перестали покупать живые елки под новый год! Это ли не успех! А мы приглашаем всех, у кого есть свои идеи или кто хочет поддержать нашу существующую, пишите нам. Новый год не за горами!

Давайте поможем лесным красавицам остаться в лесу!